Magistrate Clarification- AOE and Fortifications

Post final proposals for the Magistrate here, not a discussion area.
Forum rules
Once a proposal is posted, only the original poster will be able to edit it. No one will be able to comment except for club officials. Once a proposal is voted upon, the results will be posted as a reply.
Post Reply
User avatar
fingers630
Knight of the Realm
Posts: 1613
Joined: 2012-01-11
Location: In his Anti Magic Pants

Magistrate Clarification- AOE and Fortifications

Post by fingers630 » 2016-06-09

Currently there is a bit of a grey area in regards to spells with AOE and what happens inside/outside a fortification. For example, someone warp woods and it lands outside the castle wall. But there are 4 guys with spears on that wall within 10ft of the spell. Do they lose their spears? This clarification addresses that issue and should be included on page 80 of the Rulebook, after the description of Gates.

"AOE does not pass through fortification walls. For example if a fireball lands outside of a tower, the inhabitants are not affected. Conversely, if a dispel magic is cast inside a fortification, it has no effect on someone standing outside of the wall."
Justicar Lucius Alexander Crum
Archmage of Elidor and Lord of the Realm
Queen of the Silly People

______________________________________________________________________
"I'll grapple with greasy fingers... Just sayin'..."-Thrush

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests